Dinner Roll with Dukkah

I get such a visceral reaction to bread.  I can tell good bread apart from bad by just looking at it. Yeah, I know…I am such a gifted person. So when I saw a recipe for buttery dinner rolls in the Oct/Nov 2011 issue of Fine Cooking magazine, I knew I was in for a treat. I took the liberty of sprinkling some dukkah spice on a couple of the rolls. Dukkah is an amazing nut and spice mixture typically eaten in Egypt with flatbread and olive oil. It’s very versatile. It can be used in pasta, on meat and poultry. Try making your own dukkah spice mix and enjoy!

EGYPTIAN DUKKAH

⅔c blanched almonds

⅔c hazelnuts

¼ c coriander seeds

3 tbsp sesame seeds

2 tbsp cumin seeds

1 tbsp black peppercorn

1 tsp fennel seeds

1 tsp sea salt

1 tsp paprika

Pinch of Turmeric

Pinch of crushed dried chilies

 

Dry toast almonds and hazelnuts in a heated skillet until fragrant and set aside to cool. Repeat procedure with the spice seeds and peppercorn. Set aside and let it cool. Place nut and seeds with remaining ingredients in a food processor and pulse to a coarse consistency.

Store in an airtight container in a cool place for up to a month.

 

Click on link for dinner rolls recipe: http://www.finecooking.com/recipes/knotted-dinner-rolls.aspx

About africuria11

I live with my family in the Washington, DC metro area. I'm an avid home cook and caterer. I love food history and I'm currently exploring the cuisines of Africa.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

